Staff & Board

Position Available: Food Co-op Development Specialist 10/20/2014

Food Co-op Initiative is a nonprofit cooperative development center that provides training, resources and advice to community organizers of new retail food co-ops. We are currently working closely with dozens of emerging co-ops, while providing online resources to hundreds more.

We stand at a moment in time when the intersecting desires for access to healthy food, re-localization of economic development, and authenticity and shared values in our economic activity are driving a wave of new co-op organizing across the United States.

Food Co-op Initiative seeks a highly organized and effective individual to help us make the most of our present opportunity and take our organization to a new level of service and impact.

Click here for complete job description and application information.


Stuart Reid, Executive Director

Stuart has worked at five retail food co-ops in a variety of roles, served on several co-op boards, was a Buyer & Merchandiser for the former DANCe co-op warehouse, served on the executive committee of the Twin Cities Natural Food Co-ops Grocers Association, was liaison to the Midwest Co-op Grocers Association, and helped open the Just Food Co-op in Northfield, MN as their first general manager. He has written for the Cooperative Grocer magazine, written and edited training manuals, and presented at workshops and conferences.

Stuart holds a Lifetime Certified Purchasing Manager accreditation from the Institute for Supply Management where he was also recognized as top Membership Committee Chair of the region. In 2004 he was the recipient of the Howard Bowers award for Innovation and Achievement.

Mary Stennes Wilbourn

Mary serves as our Operations and Outreach Coordinator. She manages our data, website, and social media, and will likely be the first person people speak to when they contact Food Co-op Initiative.

Mary brings extensive experience in nonprofit and higher education office management, communication, and advocacy. She spent four years as communications and operations manager for a social justice organization in Minnesota, followed by several years as an office management consultant and free-lance writer.

Prior to that, Mary spent ten years in the career center of a busy mid-western university, managing the office and the  on-campus employment program. She co-authored a job search handbookf ro college grads, and established on of the first online job databases in the country.

Board Members

FCI Board and Staff

Left to right: Marilyn Scholl, Stuart Reid, Ann Fedorchak (former board member), Chris Clamp, Anya Firszt, Sandra Rosenberg, Sverre Roang, Allan Gallant, Jake Schlachter (former staff member.) Missing from photo: Rochelle Prunty and Patrick Connealy.

Sverre Roang, Chair
Attorney, Whyte, Hirschboeck, Dudek, S.C.

Allan Gallant, Vice Chair
Blooming Prairie Foundation

Marilyn Scholl, Secretary
Executive Director, CDS Consulting Co-op

Patrick Connealy, Treasurer
Senior Vice President, NCB

Anya Firszt
Blooming Prairie Foundation, Chair
General Manager, Willy Street Co-op, Madison, WI

Chris Clamp
Southern New Hampshire University

Sandra Rosenblith
Director, Stand Up for Rural America 

Rochelle Prunty
General Manager, River Valley Market